jump to navigation

Will Google take over the world? June 1, 2009

Posted by keithkchan in Philosophy.
trackback

Google has released a new product again, Google wave. Google’s products are usually innovative and free. Besides saying it is cool, I am not going to comment on it further.

So far I only use Google as a search engine. In fact I realized I use more than that, e.g. Youtube, maybe more. I still refuse to use Gmail although most of my colleagues use it now. The reason that I worry that Google has really a lot of momentum. In last few years or so, Google has released new products that kick other competitors’ ass. Google’s products are dominant in the market, everybody search using Google, email using Gmail, look for directions in Google map, watch videos on Youtube … It has the potential to eliminate all the competitors and take over the world.

But I now hesitate. Well, Google just makes our life easier. What do you want? The reason that everybody uses it simply because it is free and of high performance. This is just a demonstration of the survival of the fittest. The latest product Google wave is good for scientific collaboration. After all, Google seems very friendly to science so far. Google supports open software, which I personally admire.

Now I begin to question am I simply stupid pig headed, and making fuzz out of nothing? If Google is going to take over the world, the world may be of better shape than it present form.

Comments»

1. Daniel de França MTd2 - June 1, 2009

To take over the world it should 1st get rid of any microsoft threats, don’t you think?

2. keithkchan - June 2, 2009

Daniel
Well, I don’t like microsoft either. Although its products Windows and Office have dominated in the market, it does not seems to me it has the momentum to dominate other areas.
Keith

3. Daniel de França MTd2 - June 2, 2009

Yes, sure, but while microsoft has these products selling strong, they will never cease to compete with google. And the dominance in the OS market seems to be much more solid than google’s in those other markets.

4. keithkchan - June 2, 2009

I agree with you that the OS dominance is crucial. I suspect we may have Google OS in the future.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

